I love making something out of nothing. When there are limited resources food wise, I always seem to find a way to make a delish dish and sometimes, even a meal.

Photobucket

When we realized we didn’t bring a dessert up with us I came to the rescue! I was craving my favorite dessert: a warm peach crumble.

Just give me hot fruit with a buttery crumbly crust on top and I’m all over it.

Photobucket

So I had a bunch of ripe peaches, Bob’s Red Mill high fiber hot cerel (normally I’d use oats, but I improvised), turbinado sugar, brown sugar, and non dairy Smart Balance.

Photobucket

I melted the Smart Balance in a small saucepan. I used about a cup.

Photobucket

Add the sugar and stir until dissolved. Add the hot cereal/oats until coated in the butter mixture and forms into balls.

Photobucket

Arrange the sliced peaches in a baking dish and spread the buttery oat mixture on top. Bake at 350* for about 35-40 minutes or until the top is brown and the fruit is soft. Serving with ice cream  is optional but encouraged :).

~ HJP

