With fall finally here I wanted to get into the Autumn spirit. I finally got around to making How Sweet Eat’s Pumpkin Pie spice.
Photobucket

The recipe calls for cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves, and cardamom.

Photobucket

I decided to throw some allspice into the mix since I know that’s in the same ‘spice’ family.

Photobucket

I love cardamom. But of course I didn’t throw the whole pod into the mix! That would’ve made the spice all grainy and not smooth.

The little seeds are inside the pod.

Photobucket

I know a coffee bean grinder is really supposed to be used for coffee beans.

Photobucket

But I use this thing for grinding spices. It’s the perfect size and does it so quickly. I also grind up flaxseeds in it too.

Photobucket

Before…

Photobucket

After! The perfectly cocoa colored aromatic spice is ready!

Photobucket

I put the spice in this mustard jar from France that I got when I went there many years ago.

Photobucket

Hola Dora! Want some pumpkin seed granola?

Si si!

Photobucket

I decided to put the spice to use in this pumpkin seed granola.


dry:

(I eyeballed everything as usual but I figure its about a 1 cup of the bigger ingredients)

rolled oats (I used 2 cups of this)

sunflower seeds

pumpkin seeds

pumpkin pie spice (1 tsp)

walnuts

flaxseeds (1/2 cup)

golden raisins

wet:

coconut oil

agave syrup

vanilla extract

Photobucket

Combine all the oats, nuts, seeds and dried fruit.

Photobucket

I heated up the coconut oil and agave for 5 mins in a small sauce pan. Once the wet mixture is heated, let it cool for a few minutes then add the vanilla extract.

Photobucket

Add the wet to the dry mixture and combine. Bake at 350* and keep checking and stirring the granola until brown and crispy. Make sure the raisins don’t get overcooked because sadly the raisins got a little burnt :(. But I;d say I baked it for about 30-ish minutes.

Photobucket

Enjoy on cereal, yogurt and more :)

~HJP

