I am inexperienced in the world of “canned pumpkin”. The only use that I’m really familiar with in using it is for pumpkin pie. But from what I’ve been hearing the stuff is super versatile and great for many recipes. But I decided to go out on a ledge and explore canned pumpkin through baking this time around.  I had a hankering for cookies but I ended up with a batter that could go either in the cookie or muffin direction.

Photobucket

I wanted something that was a cross between an oatmeal cookie and a chocolate chip cookie. So I ended up with these beauts.

Photobucket

When I plated them I put the cookies are on top of the muffins, so they look like mondo muffin tops al a Seinfeld.

But I embrace the stumps too ;).

Photobucket

Ingredients:

Dry

1 cup rolled oats

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour

1 tsp baking soda

a pinch of salt

1 tsp pumpkin pie spice or you can use cinnamon & nutmeg

1 cup chopped walnuts

1 cup turbindo sugar

chocolate chips (optional but recommended ;))

Wet

2 egg whites

most of a can of canned pumpkin, about 3/4 of it

1 cup Earth Balance/butter/oil (it helps to melt/soften this up this beforehand)

1 tbsp vanilla extract

Photobucket

First I mixed all the wet ingredients^.

Photobucket

Then the dry.

Photobucket

Then add the dry ingredients to the wet in batches.

Photobucket

Chopped up my chocolate. I didn’t have chocolate chips so I chopped up a bar of non dairy chocolate. I also made sure to coat the chocolate in some flour before adding it to the batter.

Photobucket

I initially was only going to make cookies but the batter was a bit loose so I decided to try it both ways.

Photobucket

Muffins

Photobucket

Cookies

Photobucket

There was a smidgen of batter leftover so I made a mini pumpkin oat ‘cake’ for myself and decided to try Allie’s toaster oven method of baking.

Photobucket

I baked this sucker for about 10 minutes on high in the toaster oven.

Photobucket

Tah dah! But the top got brown and the inside was a little mushy and raw.

Photobucket

I guess I’ll have to settle for these critters ;).

~HJP

